Interview with Happy Days

Florida black metal sucks. Happy Days sucks less than other Florida black metal. Thus, they deserve an interview. With two demos and a split under their belt already in less than a year of existence with another split and LP on the way, Happy Days has cemented themselves as the premier suicidal black metal artist in the underground Floridian metal scene. With the recent addition of AOC’s Cid on drums, Happy Days is prepared to send the sunshine state into a world of gloom. I’m talking with founding member Morbid and new member Cid about the future of this endeavor, upcoming releases, and the terrible, terrible state of Floridian black metal.

Hails, Morbid! How are things with you and Happy Days?

Morbid: Pretty good, actually. I normally hate doing interviews, but I think maybe you’ll understand my words.

Give us a brief history of the band. Having started only this year, you’ve released rather prolifically for such a young artist.

Morbid: Well, I don’t like to talk about personal things like that. But I’ve had many problems in my life. My whole life has been a struggle: not being accepted anywhere, not having friends, having no money, living on the streets, not having supportive parents, nothing. And more and more, I just started growing more hatred upon this world. But at the same time, my depression just only got worse. It is something that has always been inside me. It never will go away. It will always triumph over any other emotion. I always wanted to start a project that was the complete opposite of what a typical black metal band would be. Something that doesn’t have to do with putting on make up and studs and run around with plastic swords, worshipping a god that doesn’t exist. Although I still do respect “some” bands that started the wave, I think it’s pretty childish. Today’s black metal is all about image, especially the ones in Florida(with the exception of certain bands, like Cryptic Throne and ND).It’s all about being “brutal” or “grim”. To me, black metal shouldn’t be about that. But then again, it’s my opinion. So instead I decided to show people what real black metal should be. But then agian, I’m being a hypocrite and doing the same thing just like them, so it’s really up to the listener to decide for themselves. But anyways, I thought of the name when i was viewing the 50’s or 60’s show(not sure), Happy Days, and I noticed that everyone in the show displays an act of euphoria. And considering the music I intended to compose was far away from that, I thought the name would be perfect, especially that it catches people off guard and totally messes with their minds. I think the name matches perfectly for my music.

What can you tell us about the previous demos ‘A World Of Pain’ and ‘Alone And Cold’?

Morbid: Well, in my opinion, I think they could’ve been better. The quality was not good, and the equalizing of the instruments and vocals was unbalanced. But if I had to pick my favorite demo, I’d have to say “Alone And Cold”, because it wasn’t as bad of a quality and the music was sort of equalized. They were both recorded in the same month. And I will sometime later on in the future re-release them, or just remaster the demos(maybe, I’m not sure yet) because the songs are good. They are perfect, I think it’s just the quality makes it hard to hear. But I shall give you an answer to that later.

Has the split with Depressus been released yet? Tell us a bit about this artist; they still seem to be quite unknown.

Morbid: Well, the split has been on hold for quite a very long time, because, honestly, I have not heard from him in a while So it’s been kind of stressful for me because I don’t know what happened to him. And yes, they are a very underground band. Very few know about them. Their music is quite good, as I do have only one track from them. But, like I said, I have not heard from him for a long time, so I don’t think he wants to continue the split. So what I’m going to do is add those two songs from the split to another demo which I will release sometime soon under Emong Productions.

The next split planned is with a much more high-profile artist on Clovenhoof Records, in this case, Echoes Of Silence. How’s it been working with Leviticai? Any details you can give us on the music to appear there, or a possible release date?

Morbid: Echoes Of Silence is a very excellent, productive band, and I have total respect for the man behind it as well. And just like in the first split, my side of it only consists of two songs. And it’s been kind of the same reason with EOS but he has a reason for it. He’s been very busy focusing on his full length and on his website(he had problems which i will not explain). So the split is on hold for now also. But, like I said, I will release those two songs on the demo I’m releasing for the other two songs on the other split.

An LP called ‘Melancholic Memories’ is also planned. Has the material been completed yet, or are you still in the writing process? Has a label been decided for its release yet, or will it be an independent operation?

Morbid: The material on it is in the process of completion. The label will be released under Emong Productions. I will not reveal anymore information on it. Just listen to it, and experience it.

How did you get in contact with Cid for him to act as Happy Days’ new drummer? One can see that AOC’s music is of a radically different nature from your own.

Morbid: It’s interesting how we met, because we actually met in a music store, and I happened to have been wearing a band shirt that he obviously knew in a second. From there we started talking and start speaking of his project and everything else. I heard his project and was very impressed with the timing and the music he composed. It was very well put together, and it’s a project that doesn’t talk about the same typical black metal bands speak of, “Satan, worshipping Satan, sodomizing Satan, eating Satan”. AOC is going to definitely be successful in the future, I know it. So when I went to the Black House for the first time, I was recording my guitar work for the upcoming album, and Cid was just messing with the song with his drumset. I was just overwhelmed by his playing. He’s an amazing drummer, and he knew exactly how I wanted the drums to sound and everything. It was a very good experience to hear him play and I am very grateful to have him on Happy Days. Just buy it and listen to the album when you can, and you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Cid: When Morbid went for the first time to the Black House, I threw in some drum beats while he was recording guitars. He liked it very much, and so we took it from there. To answer your second question, I can’t say I am depressed about anything right now, but that does not affect this act in any way. Morbid is a genuine individual. He is not pretending like many other depressive and suicidal people (with bands) out there. Morbid’s music has captivated me for this sole reason. Even though this music is far more simplistic than the one I compose, I enjoy it very much. Creativity can be expressed through many different tongues.

There are plenty of local black metal bands; the question is if any are good. Any local black metal artists that you enjoy? The suicidal variety in particular seems to be rather under-represented.

Morbid: As of here in Miami, there’s only two that I like very much (Cryptic Throne and Nocturnal Delirium). But other than that, no, I hate the black metal bands that have grown here. It’s the same thing: Satan, corpse paint, being “grim” or “kvlt”. It’s just all about image. That’s what black metal has sort of become now, and it’s all for having money, and to become the most brutal of all black metal bands. Suicidal depressive black metal is different, because they don’t need or want attention from anyone. They just do it to express themselves from their sorrow and pain. And there’s actual emotion behind it. But most of the people who listen to black metal are too immature for it anyways. So they end up hating it because they consider it “boring” or too simple, just because it doesn’t have fast, trilling guitars or blasting drums. It just makes me despise people more and more. The musicians who create this type of music don’t do it for money, but to spread the negativity of what they feel. I mean I could be wrong, of course, because everyone has their reasons for it, but that’s just what I think.

Cid: I enjoy and have a normal friendship with a few bands from Florida and that includes music in general. I really don’t care about scenes, especially metal. I am sick of these immature posers. They’re all sheep.

What is the goal of Happy Days as a musical identity? Is the band based upon any strict political or philosophical ideology?

Morbid: My goal is to be able to connect with the person listening to my music on how they feel: if they share the same life, or something related to it. I want to introduce to people what real black metal should be. Although I highly acknowledge and respect philosophical ideology, that’s not what Happy Days will have, because it’s not about that.

Are any live performances planned for Happy Days?

Morbid: Oh, yes, you can definitely count on it. Actually, I will start booking for shows after we release our first album. We just don’t know where yet. But, yes, we will be doing that much.

Tell us about your other project, Deep-Pression.

Morbid: It’s a side project that I am very grateful and fortunate to be in, because it’s always been a dream to work with the people in it. But for the sake of keeping the band underground, I can’t reveal any information on it without permission from the founder of Deep-Pression (RH). You’d have to ask him about it, not me.

What artists in black metal (or other music) do you take the most inspiration from? What would you state are the central influences on Happy Days?

Morbid: You can’t really be influenced by a person, and for music, I’d rather not display their names for the sake of keeping them from reaching a lot of attention. I don’t think they’d want that. But you can say that they are a real big influence musically with me and with Happy Days.

What’s in your CD player these days? Looking forward to any upcoming releases in particular?

Morbid: Not really. Just my project’s album. I don’t like to reveal the music I listen to for the sake of keeping the underground underground.

Cid: RUSH and I look forward to the upcoming Nokturnal Mortum.

Anything you’d like to say before we part ways?

Morbid: I would like to thank you for taking the time to do this interview with me, and for reviewing my demos. It’s greatly appreciated.

Cid: Fuck the metal scenes.

Many thanks to Morbid and Cid of Happy Days for their time and attention in answering our questions, and to Pseudodraconis for editing. You can check out Happy Days at http://www.myspace.com/happydayshorde. Thanks for reading; we’ll see you in hell.

~ by noktorn on August 18, 2007.

8 Responses to “Interview with Happy Days”

  1. Hails to Morbid…
    thats i want to say

  2. This guy Morbid must be the most cliché black metal musician out there, just see at his laughable, conventional answers and way to understand black metal, starting from the typical “I hate interviews” shit, passing to the desperate efforts to differenciate himself from the main black metal current even although his music is far from originality, and ending in this annoying thought kept by so many black metal kiddies that bm should be all image and ideology instead of simpply good music.

    I actually like a lot reading interviews because the musicians sometimes are able to give you keys to understand better the background of certain music you enjoy and make you hear that music from another perspective, but there is nothing valuable from here. Just cliché after cliché.

  3. Agree with the last post, childish answers.

  4. Completely asinine. “I don’t reveal what I’m listenin to to keep the underground underground…” Blah Blah..No one cares what kind of silly, faggot Black Metal you like anyhow…slit your wrists. Weakness is a plague upon metal.

  5. Oh boo to the fuckin hoo Morbid…

  6. If you do not like Happy Days simply do not listen to it, better listen to you comercial “Satanic Brutal Black Metal band”. As Morbid said, Happy Days expresses in a real way, this music is for people who can estimate what the DSBM means, not for people who says to be happy and to have everything. You will be able to be happy now, because many people do not have what your you have, but the happiness is not eternal..
    Regards From Peru, from my broken life..

  7. Typical response from a DSBM fan, yet another person born without a personality.

    The guy spends all day hitting on girls over myspace, he has about as much credibility as someone eating on a hunger strike.

  8. I have One Final Action by I’m In a Coffin, a CD by DSBM band Hopeless and Dead Within by Cry. I will soon have Worthless Life End by Unjoy. Depressive Suicidal Black Metal forever!!!

Leave a Reply

 
